W.E.T. – Earthrage – Review

W.E.T. - Earthrage - Review

Artist: W.E.T. 
Album: Earthrage
Genre: Metal
Label: Frontiers Music Srl.
Release Date: March 23, 2018
Reviewed by: Madz Lenthall


When Frontiers Records boldy claims that your upcoming record is the best album they’ve ever released, it had better be good. Thankfully Earthrage, the third studio album from melodic rock supergroup W.E.T is right up there. W.E.T. is built around the talents of Robert Säll (the “W” from Work of Art), Erik Mårtensson (the “E” from Eclipse) and Jeff Scott Soto (“T” from Talisman). Martensson is the creative force, having co written, produced and mixed the album. So what does the record sound like? Well, Jeff Scott Soto recently told me:

“We’re not about to change the formula, we realise why people love this project and the fans expect it to sound like it does”.

That’s just fine by me because it is a great record!

Watch The Fire kicks the album off. It’s a cracking rocker with shared lead vocals between Martensson and JSS and an uplifting chorus with trademark backing vocals. It’s a real earworm too, sticking in your head for days.

Perhaps even better, and a true highlight for me is the outstanding Kings On Thunder Road, which includes a huge chorus with so many layers you almost don’t know what to listen to – just marvellous!

As well as rockers, the album also includes Heart Is On The Line, a beautiful ballad which features an emotional vocal performance which really showcases what a voice Jeff Scott Soto has. Class.

Urgent has a tight riffing intro before giving way to a clever key change that brings in a great chorus. Again the vocals are tremendous.

Will we see W.E.T on the road anytime soon? Sadly, according to Jeff Scott Soto it’s unlikely:

“We’re all busy, especially me with Sons of Apollo, so at the moment there are no plans [to tour with W.E.T.]”

In the meantime, enjoy one great melodic rock record.


Track Listing:

01. Watch the Fire

02. Burn

03. Kings on Thunder Road

04. Elegantly Wasted

05. Urgent

06. Dangerous

07. Calling out Your Name

08. Heart is on the Line

09. I Don’t Wanna Play That Game

10. The Burning Pain of Love

11. The Never-ending Retraceable Dream

Band Members:

The band is created around Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse), Jeff Scott Soto (Talisman) & Robert Säll (Work Of Art) also features Magnus Henriksson and Robban Bäck

Translate »