Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the release of KHYMERA’s  new
album “Master of Illusions” on March 6th. Pre-order the album here:

First single, ‘Walk Away’ is available now on all digital music outlets and
a lyric video can be seen here:

While KHYMERA started out as an alliance between Italian producer/musician,
Daniele Liverani and then KANSAS singer Steve Walsh, it developed into a
regular musical project when bassist and producer Dennis Ward (Magnum,
ex-Pink Cream 69) entered the fold.

While known as a bassist, Dennis always sang background vocals with his
bands, so he was more than ready and willing to take over the lead vocals on
the Khymera albums “A New Promise,” “The Greatest Wonder,” and “The Grand
Design”. While Khymera has been on hiatus for some time, Dennis is ready to
come back with a new album, “Master of Illusions”, which comes about four
years after the release of the last album, “The Greatest Wonder”.

“I started writing in 2017,” says Dennis. “It was a slow process. I first
tried to collaborate with a pair of songwriters but it did not work out. I
was actually having a very hard time trying to write the songs I was looking
for. Fortunately, I was offered one song from Michael Palace that became the
song ‘After All This Time’ and shortly after I collaborated with Pete
Newdeck (Drums), Michael Klein (Guitars), Eric Ragno (Drums), and Jean Funes
(Silent Tiger). Then everything fell into place pretty quickly. I was able
to finalise melodies and lyrics and complete the recordings.”

Musically, the new album very much follows the logical progression of the
musical path that was started when Dennis joined the project. “Master of
Illusions” is a strong, extremely melodic release, which showcases the
fantastic vocal abilities of Dennis and highlights his great skills as a
songwriter and producer.

“One of my personal favourites is ‘Rhythm of My Life’,” continues Dennis.
“Not only because I like it, but because it was the last song I wrote. The
lyrics are kind of summing of my life routine and my work as an artist and
music producer and how I believe that no matter how stuck one can get if you
just allow it things to happen they will, hence the song ‘Just Let It
Happen’ which is another favourite not only because of the lyrics, but
because of the mesmerising atmospheric soundscape in the background. I had
fun writing and playing that one. ‘Paradise’ is another favourite because I
literally had the whole song written, including most of the lyric, in less
than a work day. I think it has a catchy chorus and a good message.”

Khymera still offers one of the most shining examples of what great European
melodic rock is all about: crystal clear production, soaring vocals, killer
musicianship and songwriting that reminds fans of the heydays of the genre
when bands like Giuffria, Icon, and Signal roamed the Earth.


1. Walk Away

2. The First Time

3. Master Of Illusions

4. The Sun Goes Down

5. Paradise

6. The Rhythm Of My Life

7. Follow The Sun

8. Father To Son

9. After All This Time

10. Victim Of Your Love

11. Let It Happen


Vocals and Bass – Dennis Ward

Guitars – Michael Klein

Keyboards – Eric Ragno

Drums – Pete Newdeck

Translate »