Greta Van Fleet – Anthem Of The Peaceful Army (Review)


When I first heard Greta Van Fleet, I,  much like many others, was amazed at how much the band reminded me of Led Zeppelin.  However, I was simply blown away by the great original songs that they produced on their debut EP.  Now, the guys have followed it up with their first full length album and after my first spin, I’m really impressed.

The opening track, Age Of Man has a bit of a different sound than what I heard in the first two, previously released singles. Most notably, the addition of keyboards that deliver the song, like a drifting ship along a winding river.

The Cold Wind follows, with a nice guitar riff that opens the uptempo track.  It’s a really nice straight ahead rock n’ roll song that will be sure to put a smile on your face.

When The Curtain Falls is simply fantastic.  It was released as the first single from the album, and rightfully so as it simply explodes with raw rock energy.  I’m not going to lie, I’ve listened to this one about a hundred times now and it doesn’t get old. It’s an instant classic and the perfect radio single.

Watching Over slows the tempo down a bit, but doesn’t disappoint by any means. It’s a solid rocker with a more mature tone and feel to it. A rare feat these days, as most rock albums are released primarily on the weight of one or two singles. While Watching Over doesn’t feel like a single, it also doesn’t feel like fluff or filler. It’s pure album oriented rock, that adds to the overall strength of Anthem Of The Peaceful Army as a complete package.

Next up we have the second single released, which is Lover, Leaver (Taker, Believer) .  It’s a great epic sounding rock song that’s not afraid to let the band explore musically into more experimental territory.

You’re The One is an upbeat acoustic based song that definitely has the sound of classic rock from days gone by.

With The New Day, Greta Van Fleet continues to explore new territory, again on the acoustic side of things.  It’s a nice uptempo rocker that’s almost irresistible. You’ll be tapping your foot along with this one.

Opening with some great slide guitar, Mountain Of The Sun delivers yet a different side to the band.  It’s a fun song that’s also suited for radio airplay. It’s unique, in most ways and sees vocalist Josh Kiszka experimenting with some different vocal techniques.

Brave New World, has a different rhythm, vocally and it packs quite a punch. I would consider it another great album track.

The final song on the album is appropriately titled, Anthem.  It’s a great choice to close out the album with a solid finish.

I’m impressed with the maturity of this album. While the band will probably always have to deal with being compared to the mighty Led Zeppelin, the fact is, they’re not Led Zeppelin. I mean that in a good way. This album sees the band experimenting a little more and reaching in a few different directions.  So, yes, at times they will absolutely remind you of Zeppelin, but, I also feel like they are doing their best to be themselves.  They haven’t abandoned the sound that got them so much attention in the first place, but Anthem Of A Peaceful Army feels like the band are finding their own musical direction.  Musically the band sounds tight and the songs are all superbly crafted. While Greta Van Fleet’s sound is reminiscent of retro rock, it’s a breath of fresh air in the otherwise, stale, cookie cutter, rock radio sound that’s being broadcast these days. . I sincerely hope that any naysayers, who have accused the band of being Zeppelin clones, will give this album a chance and listen to it as a true Greta Van Fleet sounding album, Zeppelin influences or not.  And just for the record, If you could sing like Robert Plant or play guitar like Jimmy Page, you’d do it in a New York minute!  This is one of the most complete and solid rock albums of 2018.  It’s certainly a contender for rock album of the year.  If you’re a fan of great rock music, pick this album up the day it comes out! It’s simply spectacular!

Artist: Greta Van Fleet
Album: Anthem Of The Peaceful Army
Genre: Rock
Label: Republic Records
Release Date: October 19, 2018

Track Listing:

01. Age Of Man
02. The Cold Wind
03. When The Curtain Falls
04. Watching Over
05. Lover, Leaver
06. You’re The One
07. The New Day
08. Mountain Of The Sun
09. Brave New World
10. Anthem

Band Members:

Josh Kiszka
Jake Kiszka
Sam Kiszka
Danny Wagner

Translate »