Hard Rock & Metal



March 18, 2022 will see the release of melodic rock stalwarts FM’s thirteenth studio album, the appropriately titled “Thirteen”. Produced by the band, “Thirteen” is yet another high-quality album that furthers the band’s standing as one of the premiere melodic rock entities in the world. The first single and video from the album, ‘Waiting On Love’ is out today. See the video HERE: https://youtu.be/r7dLbO5RlfU


Pre-order/save “Thirteen” on CD/LP/Digital HERE: https://orcd.co/thirteen

Signed copies of the album can be pre-ordered from the official band store at the link above or directly at this link: http://www.fmofficial.com/fmofficial/preorder-thirteen.html

The band’s current, and longest running, line-up, in place since 2008, has spent the last decade plus writing, recording, and touring and thus is an incredibly gelled and cohesive unit. The rhythm section of bassist Merv Goldsworthy and drummer Pete Jupp anchor FM with a rock-solid backbone, while guitarist Jim Kirkpatrick delivers delicious hooks and melodies with keyboardist Jem Davis adds lush layers to the band’s dynamic sound. And what more could be said about Steve “The Voice” Overland, whose golden pipes have easily withstood the test of time and who still sings like an angel, while adding delightful guitar parts to the proceedings. The five-piece once again bonds together as the mighty unit FM on “Thirteen” and delivers beautiful melodic rock that their fans have come to expect.

Founded in 1984 when singer Steve Overland and his brother, guitarist Chris (both formerly of Wildlife) teamed up with drummer Pete Jupp (ex-Wildlife and Samson) and bassist Merv Goldsworthy (ex-Diamond Head and Samson), the guys were soon joined by Didge Digital on keyboards and by December of that year they had secured a recording contract with CBS/Portrait and headed to Germany for a run of dates with Meat Loaf. Further tours with Tina Turner, Foreigner, and Gary Moore built their momentum and on September 8, 1986, FM released their debut album “Indiscreet”, which featured the hugely popular single ‘Frozen Heart’, to great critical acclaim and the year ended on a high with FM supporting the white-hot Bon Jovi on their Slippery When Wet tour.

For the next nine years, FM consolidated their position at the forefront of British melodic rock, touring extensively as headliners and also joining bands such as Status Quo and Whitesnake on tours to promote 1989’s “Tough It Out”, 1991’s “Takin’ It To The Streets” (with Andy Barnett on guitar, replacing the now-departed Chris Overland), 1992’s “Aphrodisiac” (featuring Tony ‘Slim’ Mitman of Romeo’s Daughter on keyboards), and what was to be their ‘final’ album, 1995’s “Dead Man’s Shoes” with new recruit Jem Davis (Tobruk, UFO) on keyboards. The band would then go on hiatus, until 2007 when, after a 12 year sabbatical, they returned to the stage for a ‘one-off’ headline performance at a sold-out Firefest IV at Nottingham Rock City.

The rapturous reception from the fans at Firefest led to FM quickly making the decision to record a new album and following a return to Firefest in 2009, in March 2010 FM released their much-anticipated sixth studio album “Metropolis” with Jim Kirkpatrick replacing Andy Barnett on lead guitar. And FM hasn’t stopped since! Headline tours both in the UK and overseas, special guest slots touring with Foreigner, Journey, Thin Lizzy, and Heart, festival appearances including Download, Planet Rockstock, Sweden Rock, Graspop, Steelhouse Festival, Frontiers Rock Festival, HRH and HRH AOR, Cambridge Rock Festival, and in 2018 their first-ever live show in the US at Melodic Rock Fest 5.

When not touring, FM have been busy in the studio and since their 2010 ‘comeback’ album they have released five original albums, a re-recorded version of their debut album, and a few live releases.

1.  Shaking The Tree
2.  Waiting On Love
3.  Talk Is Cheap
4.  Turn This Car Around
5.  Love And War
6.  Long Road Home
7.  Be Lucky
8.  Every Man Needs A Woman
9.  Just Got Started
10. Fight Fire With Fire  
11. Be True To Yourself        

Total length: 0.54.46

Steve Overland – Vocals, Guitar
Merv Goldsworthy – Bass
Pete Jupp – Drums
Jem Davis – Keyboards
Jim Kirkpatrick – Guitar





31 –  Barnsley – Birdwell, UK                     


01 –  Cottingham – Civic Hall, UK                                            

02 –  Manchester – Club Academy UK            

07 –  London – Islington Assembly Hall, UK                           

08 –  Nuneaton – Queens Hall, UK                                                              

09 –  Norwich – Waterfront, UK                                               

15 –  Bournemouth – Madding Crowd, UK                             

16 –  Swansea – Patti Pavilion, UK                                         

17 –  Nantwich – Civic Hall, UK                                               

22 –  Newcastle – University, UK                                                                            

23 –  Glasgow – G2 Garage, UK                           

29 –  Reading – Sub89, UK                                                        

30 –  Nottingham – Rescue Rooms, UK      


01 – Durham – Northern Kin Festival, UK                                 

10 – Oberhausen – Resonanzwerk, Germany

12 – Landgraaf – Oefenbunker, Netherlands                   

13 – Mannheim 7er Club, Germany                               

14 – Aarburg – Musigburg, Switzerland                            

15 – Milan – Legend Club, Italy                                        

16 – Marseille – Le Cherrydon, France                        

18 – Barcelona – Razzmatazz 2, Spain                                                                 

19 – Madrid – Shoko, Spain                                                        

20 – Segovia – Teatro Juan Bravo, Spain                                       

21 – Pamplona – Sala Totem, Spain    


27 – Colne – The Great British Rhythm & Blues Festival, UK


25 – Helmond – Cacaofabriek, Netherlands

26 – Antwerp – All Star Fest, Belgium 

About the author

Bobby Caughron

Bobby Caughron is a music journalist and Editor-In-Chief for XS ROCK. He began a life-long fan of hard rock and metal music after hearing KISS as a kid. He is still an avid fan of the 80s metal scene and continues to discover and write about new music in all rock genres today.

XS ROCK Back Issues

Listen To The XS ROCK Podcast On Amazon

Hard Rock & Metal

80s Rock & Pop

Industrial & Electronic Rock

Alternative Rock & Punk

Check Out Bang Your Head Apparel!

Get All The Latest News From XS ROCK In Your Email

Subscribe to our mailing list and get pdates to your email inbox.

Buy Hair Metal!