Dirkschneider: Live – Back To The Roots

Artist: Dirkschneider
Album: Live – Back To The Roots
Genre: Metal
Label: AFM Records
Release Date: October 28, 2016

Most of you know Udo Dirkschneider as the original lead vocalist for the great metal band, Accept. And while the band made some of the best metal albums of the 1980’s and 1990’s, there was often a lot of turmoil and chaos as the band broke up, and re-united several times. Eventually, the band and Udo parted ways for good and both bands seem to have found success and peace doing their own thing in their own respective bands. Over the years, Dirkschneider has created a lot of great albums with his own solo band, entitled U.D.O. Just this last year he decided that it was time to close the book on the Accept chapter in his life. By doing so, it was decided that he would do a tour, in which he would play the Accept songs live for the final time ever. Live – Back To The Roots is a live concert recording of those magical last performances of these Accept masterpieces. It’s a virtual, live collection of 25 of the greatest hits that he performed over several decades with Accept. Clocking in at 2 hours and 10 minutes, this is a fantastic album that proves the timelessness of the material and that Udo still has plenty of gas left in the tank. At first, I couldn’t believe that he was really going to stop performing the Accept material live, but after reading his thoughts on the matter, I completely understand and respect his decision to do so under his own terms. So many of us hold on to the past for far to long and it often keeps us from moving forward with the same momentum that made us happy to begin with. The tracks are selected from the best albums that Accept did during their prime with Udo at the helm. Musically, Udo’s band is outstanding and can play the Accept material perfectly note for note. Udo’s voice still sounds like it did so many years ago.  Pick this up as soon as it’s available. You won’t be sorry. It’s a great tribute and farewell to Accept from Dirkschneider that not only does the material justice but sends a chill down your spine, knowing that these are some of the final performances of this great musical legacy.

Track Listing:
Intro 2:32
Starlight 3:43
Living For Tonite 4:01
Flash Rockin’ Man 4:22
London Leatherboys 4:58
Midnight Mover 3:34
Breaker 4:49
Head Over Heels 5:31
Neon Nights 9:04
Princess Of The Dawn 11:03
Winterdreams 5:41
Restless And Wild 2:56
Son Of A Bitch 3:30
Up To The Limit 4:52
Wrong Is Right 3:13
Midnight Highway 3:58
Screaming For A Love Bite 4:24
Monsterman 3:13
TV War 3:34
Losers And Winners 6:27
Metal Heart 8:24
I’m A Rebel 3:31
Fast As A Shark 4:57
Balls To The Wall 9:04
Burning 8:21

Band Members:
Udo Dirkschneider – Vocals
Sven Dirkschneider – Drums
Fitty Wienhold – Bass
Andrey Smirnov – Guitar
Kasperi Heikkinen – Guitar

Translate »