Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


80s Rock & Pop

“An Hour Before It’s Dark” – The new Marillion album to be released on March 4th, 2022


earMUSIC is delighted to announce the release of Marillion’s 20th studio album “An Hour Before It’s Dark” on March 4th, 2022. A first peek into the album is available as of now with the single “Be Hard On Yourself”.
“An Hour Before It’s Dark” – Whether it’s the last hour you were allowed to play outside as a child before you had to go home, a reference to the fight against time in relation to the climate crisis or the last minutes in a person’s life, Marillion once again put their finger on the pulse of time. Be it social, political, or personal issues, Marillion have never minced words and have always found a way to combine them with their own unique sound, known for incredible songwriting, melodies and top-notch musicianship, while swimming against the tide, not bending to norms and limitations.

The first single “Be Hard On Yourself” from the upcoming album couldn’t be a better example of this.

Listen to “Be Hard On Yourself” here:

“Despite the seemingly bleak contemplations across this album – the virus, our mortality, medical science, care, AND Leonard Cohen (ha ha) – the overall feeling of the music is surprisingly upbeat. I think the band are as on form as they ever were really, and the addition of Choir Noir has added another new soul and colour to things” – h

Like its predecessor, 2016’s critically acclaimed and chart-topping album F*** Everyone And Run (F E A R)”, “An Hour Before It’s Dark” was recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios, which also provided the perfect backdrop for the carefully chosen selection of behind-the-scenes footage in form of a documentary on the making of the album and a performance of “Murder Machines” from Real World that will be released together with the album.


Marillion are currently on the road with the “Light At The End Of The Tunnel” tour in the UK, which will be followed by several Marillion weekends until summer 2022 and a major European tour in autumn 2022.

Founded in 1979, British rock band Marillion have, over the course of 19 studio albums, become one of the most commercially successful progressive rock bands of the 1980s and are still one of the most outstanding representatives of their genre. Marillion embraced the potential of the internet for both their commercial approach and to interact with their audience, long before most of their peers.

Be Hard On Yourself

Single Release: November 19th, 2021

An Hour Before It’s Dark
Album Release: March 4th, 2022

CD+DVD Digipak / CD Digipak / Jewelbox CD / Blu-ray Softbox / 2LP Gatefold / Ltd. Coloured 2LP (Orange)

Further exclusive formats available in the official album store here.


  1. Be Hard On Yourself
    1. The Tear In The Big Picture
    2. Lust For Luxury
    3. You Can Learn
  2. Reprogram The Gene
    1. Invincible
    2. Trouble-Free Life
    3. A Cure For Us?
  3. Only A Kiss (Instrumental)
  4. Murder Machines
  5. The Crow And The Nightingale
  6. Sierra Leone
    1. Chance In A Million
    2. The White Sand
    3. The Diamond
    4. The Blue Warm Air
    5. More Than A Treasure
  7. Care
    1. Maintenance Drugs
    2. An Hour Before It’s Dark
    3. Every Call
    4. Angels On Earth

You May Also Like

Hard Rock & Metal

Recently, I received an advanced release for Josh Todd & The Conflict’s debut album, “Year Of The Tiger”. Most of you probably know Josh...

Featured Articles

During the 80’s hard rock ruled the airwaves. Quiet Riot’s Metal Health became the first #1 metal album of all time. Soon after the...

Hard Rock & Metal

Britny Fox was formed in 1985 with “Dizzy” Dean Davidson on vocals, former Cinderella drummer Tony Destra, former Cinderella guitarist Michael Kelly Smith and...

Hard Rock & Metal

You can buy the new digital single using the name your price structure at the link below: ‘Dead Or Alive’ – GEORGE LYNCH &...