XSRock News

Valkyrie (feat. Pete Adams, formerly of Baroness) To Release New Album “Fear”

Valkyrie (feat. Pete Adams, formerly of Baroness) To Release New Album "Fear"

Driven by brothers Jake and Pete Adams, VALKYRIE draws from pre-metal style to create a rich and earthy heavy rock sound. They formed in summer 2002 in Rockbridge County, Virginia as a three-piece consisting of vocalist/guitarist Jake Adams, bassist Eric Seaman, and drummer Luke Shafer.

In 2004, Jake’s brother Pete has introduced on the second guitar and soon after, a five-song demo was recorded at a local college radio station. Shafer soon departed and was replaced by Mike Hoke on drums and a new demo, Sunlight Shines, and a split 7″ with VOG was recorded. Seaman and Hoke parted ways with the band at the end of 2004 and were replaced by bassist Nick Crabill and drummer Nic McInturff (Napking, Stifling). This line-up recorded the eponymous debut album, which was released by Ric Bennett of Starchild’s Twin Earth Records.

In early 2006 VALKYRIE again parted ways with its rhythm section and recruited current bassist Will Barry-Rec (Hit by a Hearse, Accursed Dawn) and drummer Gary Isom (Spirit Caravan, Pentagram). This lineup played numerous festivals throughout the United States, including the final Emissions from the Monolith Fest in Austin, Texas, and the long-running Stoner Hands of Doom festival in Phoenix, Arizona. Isom and VALKYRIE parted ways in mid-2007 and they recruited veteran drummer Warren Hawkins (Big Dixie, Devil Take The Hindmost, Mass Sabbath).

In 2008, VALKYRIE released their second album, Man of Two Visions on the band’s own label, Noble Origin. Kreation Records, of Seattle, Washington, released both the S/T and Man of Two Visions on 12″ vinyl in 2007 and 2008. In July of 2010 Meteorcity Records re-released both the S/T and Man of Two Visions albums in CD format. In March of 2012, Alan Fary (Earthling, Lost at Sea) joined the band on bass.

In 2015, VALKYRIE released their Relapse Records debut album Shadows. Packed with harmonized leads, rich solos and melodic, blues-based riffs, VALKYRIE sound like the perfect blend of American style doom rock bands like Pentagram or Spirit Caravan and classic hard rock like Thin Lizzy, Wishbone Ash, and Deep Purple.

Fast forward 5 years to 2020, Virginia heavy rockers VALKYRIE return with their anthemic, riff-driven fourth full-length album, Fear. Fear finds VALKYRIE sounding more progressive and diverse than ever before. Tracks such as “Feeling So Low,” “The Choice,” and “Evil Eye” showcase VALKYRIE expanding their sound, infusing their take on classic hard rock with a penchant for remarkable melodies and creative hooks.

Recorded at Earth Analog in Illinois, Fear showcases the tone-rich, organic songwriting process VALKYRIE honed in on over the course of their career. A warm analog sound permeates throughout each of the album’s eight tracks, as blistering twin leads, soaring guitar harmonies by Pete and Jake Adams, poignant lyrics, and a relentless rhythm section result in a highly textured and timeless collection of southern rock. With Fear, VALKYRIE take the next step in their evolution as one of the most creative and dynamic forces in the hard rock scene today.

XS ROCK Back Issues

Get All The Latest News From XS ROCk In Your Email

Subscribe to our mailing list and get pdates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

If You love Everything About The 80’s Check This Out!

Nuclear Blast Records

Buy Stephen Pearcy’s Tell All Book

Follow XS ROCK on Twitter