Theatre Of Tragedy – Remixed (Review)

Theatre Of Tragedy - Remixed (Review)

Artist: Theatre Of Tragedy
Album: Remixed
Genre: Gothic Metal / Electronic
Label: AFM Records
Release Date: July 12, 2019
Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron


Theatre of Tragedy, unfortunately, called it quits as a band back in 2010.  The band has stated on several occasions that the chance of the band reforming is slim to none.  Disappointing news for their many fans, but the upside is this new album “Remixed”.  After ten long years of being gone from the music scene, Theatre Of Tragedy returns, with a re-imagined, re-mastered, and remixed albums of great songs done by some of best electronic rock and darkwave bands on the scene.

As evidenced by this album, and the eager participation of these artists, it’s easy to see what an incredible influence Theatre Of Tragedy was on the Gothic Metal scene, especially in the early days of the band.  While this might not be new compositions by the band themselves, it certainly has a fresh and new feel to it.  The artists who have remixed these great songs have all added their own spin and interpretation of them.   The variety of styles that the remixes represent are all quite unique and make for really interesting listening.  The remixes by Das Ich and Zeromancer being the darkest and heaviest with the beats.  VNV Nation‘s version of  “Machine” is a more danceable take with an infectious beat that’s hard to forget.  A lot of these mixes maintain a real goth flavor while becoming more ethereal and dream inducing.

Whether you are a fan of Theatre Of Tragedy‘s music or the electronic artists that remixed this album, you’re bound to enjoy this surprisingly good output.  It’s the closest thing fans have to “new” music by the band and it certainly doesn’t disappoint any level. A worthy addition to the discography of a band who ultimately ended far too soon.

Track Listing:

01. And When He Falleth (Das Ich Remix – Remastered)

02. Black as the Devil Painteth (Das Ich Remix – Remastered)

03. Lorelei (Icon of Coil Remix – Remastered)

04. Reverie (Current Remix – Remastered)

05. Machine (Vnv Nation Remix – Remastered)

06. Envision (Conetik Remix – Remastered)

07. Let You Down (Rico Darum & Superdead Remix – Remastered)

08. Motion (Funker Vogt Remix – Remastered)

09. Storm (Zeromancer Remix – Remastered)

10. Fade (Pride and Fall Extended Remix – Remastered)

11. Frozen (Ambrosius Remix – Remastered)

12. Deadland (Tommy Olsson Remix – Remastered)

13. Forever Is the World (Siva Six Remix – Remastered)

Band Members:

Nell Sigland (vocals), Raymond Istvàn Rohonyi (vocals), Frank Claussen (guitar), Vegard K. Thorsen (guitar), Hein Frode Hansen (drums), Lorentz Aspen (keyboards)

Translate »