Overkill: Grinding Wheel

Overkill Discuss New Album In Video Trailer

Artist: Overkill
Album: The Grinding Wheel
Genre: Thrash Metal
Label: Nuclear Blast
Release Date: Feb. 10, 2017

Overkill has been strong on the media wagon since Nov. ’16 when they started pumping their upcoming eighteenth album, The Grinding Wheel, due on February 10, 2017 via Nuclear Blast.

Jesus, think about that for a minute. Eighteenth album. Eighteen albums in thirty six years. The band was formed in 1980 from the ashes of the punk band The Lubricunts, featuring Rat Skates and D.D. Verni. Verni and Skates placed an ad looking for a guitarist and singer which was answered by guitarist Robert Pisarek and singer Bobby Ellsworth and the first incarnation of Overkill was formed. While the band would later overcome multiple lineup changes (which once included Dan Spitz from Anthrax in its ranks), history was already written. The band became a staple at New York and New Jersey clubs, such as the infamous L’Amours.

Overkill is the AC/DC of thrash: You always know what you’re going to get, and you’re not going to be disappointed. The Grinding Wheel is typical Overkill – heavy, dripping with sweat and attitude, and most of all signature rib breaking riffs. Yet they still continue to progress instead of remaining stagnant.

There are the elements of classic Overkill included on this disc: the heavy, bluesy juggernaut Mean Green Killing Machine and the bluesy chunker Come Heavy; the heavy, in your face attitude of Goddamn Trouble (if you listen closely, I swear you can hear the band clench their jaws during the chorus); pure thrash of Our Finest Hour and Shine On (the latter of which has some tasty harmonic solos ala Iron Maiden); as well as my favorite Red White and Blue – a thrashy national anthem of sorts with a middle catchy yet crunchy mid-break. And of course no Overkill disc would be complete without a little tongue-in-cheek humor which comes from Let’s All Go to Hades.

As usual, you just can’t go wrong with a new Overkill disc when it’s time to mosh. It’s the next best thing to seeing them live.


Track Listing:
1. Mean Green Killing Machine
2. Goddamn Trouble
3. Our Finest Hour
4. Shine On
5. The Long Road
6. Let’s All Go To Hades
7. Come Heavy
8. Red White And Blue
9. The Wheel
10. The Grinding Wheel
Catch Overkill live on the following dates:

  • 2/14/2017 Trocadero Theatre – Philadelphia, PA
  • 2/15/2017 Agora Ballroom (w/ LORDI) – Cleveland, OH
  • 2/16/2017 Park Street Saloon – Columbus, OH
  • 2/17/2017 Concord Music Hall – Chicago, IL
  • 2/18/2017 The Cabooze – Minneapolis, MN
  • 2/19/2017 Granada Theater – Lawrence, KS
  • 2/20/2017 Gothic Theatre – Englewood, CO
  • 2/22/2017 El Corazon – Seattle, WA
  • 2/23/2017 Hawthorne Theater – Portland, OR
  • 2/24/2016 Slim’s – San Francisco, CA
  • 2/25/2017 City National Grove – Anaheim, CA
  • 2/26/2017 Club Red – Tempe, AZ
  • 2/27/2017 Sunshine Theater – Albuquerque, NM
  • 2/28/2017 Trees – Dallas, TX
  • 3/01/2017 Scout Bar – Houston, TX
  • 3/02/2017 Alamo City Music Hall – San Antonio, TX
  • 3/03/2017 Southport Music Hall – New Orleans, LA
  • 3/04/2017 The Ritz Ybor – Ybor City, FL
  • 3/05/2017 Variety Playhouse – Atlanta, GA
  • 3/6/2017 The Fillmore – Charlotte, NC **
  • 3/7/2017 The NorVa – Norfolk, VA **
  • 3/8/2017 Howard Theatre – Washington, DC **
  • 3/9/2017 Upstate Concert Hall – Clifton Park, NY **
  • 3/10/2017 Palladium – Worcester, MA
  • 3/11/2017 Starland Ballroom – Sayerville, NJ **


Translate »
%d bloggers like this: