L.A. Guns – The Devil You Know (Review)

Artist: L.A. Guns
Album: The Devil You Know
Label: Frontiers Music Srl.
Release Date: March 29, 2019
Who would have thought that L.A. Guns would have released one of the best albums of the entire career 31 years after their debut album?  However,
that is exactly the case with “The Devil You Know”.  There’s an undeniable chemistry between the musical combination of Phil Lewis and Tracii Guns that’s rare in music these days.  This album is right up there with their debut album and Cocked & Loaded.  When I spoke with vocalist Phil Lewis recently, I asked if the sound of this album was a purposeful retro throwback or just what happens when He and Tracii work together and he answered with a rousing “That’s exactly what fucking happens when you put Tracii and I together.  The two reconciled their differences and put out a great album with “The Missing Peace” in 2017, I loved that album.  but “The Devil You Know” is so much better that I feel like I’ve been transported back to the late 1980’s with every listen.  I can only think of a small handful of bands that have reunited and were actually able to capture the magic of their glory years.  Now…you absolutely have to add L.A. Guns to that list.  This album has an underlying fire like the one that propelled the band to super stardom with the very first album.   The album starts off with “Rage”, which has that little bit of punk edge meets traditional hard rock.  It’s energetic and incendiary.  Songs like “Stay Away”, “Loaded Bomb”, “Needle To The Bone” and “Going High” sound like they could have easily been included on the first two albums by L.A. Guns.  The band isn’t afraid to go heavy either with songs “Like The Devil You Know”, “Rage” and “Boom” which makes this feel like a real honest album with songs that the band just really wanted to do.  “The Devil You Know” may very well end up being the best classic hard rock album of 2019.  If there’s anything better out there I’ll believe it when I see it ( or hear it) because L.A. Guns have managed to do something with this album that so many bands haven’t.  They prove that great rock music is alive and well and fly a big middle finger to anyone that says rock is dead!  This is why I started to listening to rock music so many years ago, this kind of musical passion and fire doesn’t come along often and you’d be a fool not to get this album the minute it’s released!
Track Listing:
1. Rage
2. Stay Away
3. Loaded Bomb
4. The Devil You Know
5. Needle to the Bone
6. Going High
7. Gone Honey
8. Don’t Need to Win
9. Down That Hole
10. Another Season in Hell
11. Boom (Bonus Track – CD & Digital Only)
Philip Lewis – vocals
Tracii Guns – guitar
Johnny Martin – bass
Shane Fitzgibbon – drums
Ace Von Johnson – guitar
For More Info Visit:
Translate »