Joyous Wolf – Place In Time (Review)

Joyous Wolf - Place In Time (Review)

Artist: Joyous Wolf
Album: Place In Time
Genre: Rock
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: April 19, 2019
Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron



In the evolution of rock n’ roll, we’ve seen sounds slowly migrate in any particular direction and occasional radical mood changes.  However, it’s hard to find a band that can merge several sounds effectively without it sounding contrived.  Joyous Wolf is one of those rare bands.  Seemingly appearing out of nowhere, Joyous Wolf is the perfect missing link between classic rock and the alternative/grunge movement of the early ’90s.  If you were to put Led Zeppelin and The Black Crowes into a musical blender with Pearl Jam and Soundgarden, you’d get something close to the sound of Joyous Wolf.  While this is the band’s debut EP, it sure doesn’t feel like it.  It’s very mature both musically and lyrically.  And if you’ve never had the chance to catch them perform live, you’re missing out on a great performance. Lead singer, Nick Reese is equal parts charismatic and energetic. The band is incredibly tight and musically the band employs melody with a bluesy swagger that adds real authenticity to their sound.  One of my favorite songs,  “Place In Time” is a fantastic rocker that brings the heat.  The entire EP is filled with great songs, each with its own unique personality and story to tell.  To be perfectly honest, Joyous Wolf is exactly what’s been missing in rock music for quite some time.  The band is poised to stand the test of time with instantly memorable songs that already feel like familiar classics.  Along with Greta Van Fleet, Joyous Wolf is the spark to a larger fire that should ignite the rock genre back to the top of the charts and fill the stadiums again.  “Place In Time” by Joyous Wolf is simply one of the best straight-ahead rock records released in a really long time.  Jump on this one now and you can say I was there from the beginning with a band that’s destined for greatness.


Track Listing:

01. Had Enough

02. Quiet Heart

03. Said Too Much

04. Place In Time

05. Feel The Low

06. Mother Rebel

07. Undesired


Band Members:

Nick Reese (Vocals), Blake Allard (Guitar), Greg Braccio (Bass), Robert Sodaro (Drums)

Translate »