Blacktop Mojo – Under The Sun (Review)


Artist: Blacktop Mojo
Album: Under The Sun
Genre: Hard Rock
Label: Cuhmon RecordsRelease Date: September 13, 2019
Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron


Texas rockers Blacktop Mojo have returned with their third album, entitled “Under The Sun”.  The band shows a much more mature side with this album.  The band sounds tighter, leaner and meaner than their last outing, which coincidentally, I thoroughly enjoyed.  It seems the members have defined their sound and developed stronger chemistry as a cohesive unit over the last two years.  Tracks like the infectious “Lay It On Me”, It Won’t Last”  and “Can’t Sleep” make “Under The Sun” an outstanding rock album that should tear the charts on active rock radio.  I caught the band on tour last year and their live show also shows a band that is maturing and coming into their own.  Sounding at times like a heavier, Southern Rock version of Creed, Blacktop Mojo have hit their stride this time out.  While they maintain a smoothly produced sound, they still manage to get a little bit of a “Grunge” element into their sound, that makes them a little more unique than half of the bands out there.  If you like heavy rock geared toward radio airplay, you won’t find many bands that do it better than Blacktop Mojo.

Track Listing:

01. Lay It on Me

02. Set It Free

03. Come Get Your Coat

04. Keep

05. It Won’t Last

06. All Mine Now

07. Can’t Sleep

08. The Lashing (Ghost)

09. The Void

10. Under the Sun

Band Members:

Matt James- Vocals
Nathan Gillis – Drums
Ryan Kiefer – Lead Guitar
Matt Curtis – Bass
Chuck Wepfer – Guitar