Anthem – Nucleus (review)

ANTHEM Japanese Metal Band, To Release New Album Nucleus On March 29

Artist:  Anthem
Album: Nucleus
Genre: Metal
Label: Golden Robot Records
Release Date: March 29, 2019
Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron



Anthem is one of the biggest Japanese metal bands from the 80’s metal scene.  While Loudness was able to break into the U.S. Metal market during that time, so many other great bands struggled to find a foot hold in the U.S.  Anthem, unfortunately falls into that group.  It certainly wasn’t for lack of trying or musical talent.  I have been a huge fan of the band, well….since the 80’s and have continued to follow their career as they have released some incredible albums over the years. Nucleus is a greatest hits compilation that has been re-recorded with English vocals.  If you’re a die hard fan like me, you already know these songs, but it is nice to hear them sung in English and re-mastered with great sound. However, this album would be a perfect place for listeners who always wanted to hear these songs but couldn’t quite deal with the high cost of buying import albums of the band from Japan. Nucleus also comes with a second bonus disc that features “Live” renditions of some of the band’s greatest songs. If you already have the original CD’s, the “Live” disc is certainly an added incentive to pick this up.  Yukio Morikawa does a great job on these songs, including the ones that he didn’t originally sing on.  This is a great buy, especially when you consider that you get all of these hits in English along with the live material.  The second disc covers more of the band’s earlier material while the first one covers mostly recent hits and material back through the 90’s.  I remember playing “Machine Made Dog” so many times on cassette that it finally broke.  The band sounds as good, if not better than ever and the production on these tracks are superb.  A great album by a great band.  Anthem is one of the bands that prove metal music is truly universal.


Track Listing:

1. Immortal Bind
2. Black Empire
3. Overload
4. Stranger
5. Linkage
6. Eternal Warrior
7. Ghost In The Flame
8. Venom Strike
9. Awake
10. Omega Man
11. Pain
12. Echoes In The Dark
13. Unbroken Sign


Bonus disc track list:

1. Victim In Your Eyes
2. Gold & Diamonds
3. Blast
4. Frozen Fate
5. Are You Ready?
6. Machine Made Dog
7. Hunting Time
8. Engraved
9. The Sign
10. Pain
11. Wild Anthem (with Mad Ohuchi)


Band Members:

Naoto Shibata (Bass)
Akio Shimizu (Guitars)
Yukio Morikawa (Vocals)
Isamu Tamaru (Drums)

Translate »