Amon Amarth – Berserker (Review)

Amon Amarth Release First Single From New Album! Watch It Here!

Artist: Amon Amarth
Album: Berserker
Genre: Metal
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: May 3, 2019
Reviewed by: Bobby Caughron


The kings of Viking metal return with an outstanding album that will smash you harder than Thor’s hammer.  Like a fine wine, Amon Amarth just gets better with age.  Their latest album Berserker is a testament to that fact.  Amon Amarth follows a long line of rock and metal royalty like Motorhead and Iron Maiden by simply sounding like themselves and kicking ass and taking names on each and every album.  I often hear people ask who will follow the legends of metal as each one of the bands retires.  For my money, your looking at one of them with Amon Amarth.  This album takes no prisoners starting with opening track “Fafner’s Gold” and my personal favorite, “Crack The Sky”“Shield Wall”, “Raven’s Flight”, and “Ironside” are also standout tracks for me. Berserker is an all-out assault from beginning to end.  An album of all killer and no filler songs seems like a rarity these days.  If you’re already of fan of the band you’ll love this new album and if you haven’t been properly introduced to the band, this is an excellent album to start with. If Game of Thrones had a metal soundtrack it would be done by Amon Amarth. Beautiful, brutal and majestic all in one outing.

Track Listing:

01. Fafner’s Gold

02. Crack the Sky

03. Mjölner, Hammer of Thor

04. Shield Wall

05. Valkyria

06. Raven’s Flight

07. Ironside

08. The Berserker at Stamford Bridge

09. When Once Again We Can Set Our Sails

10. Skoll and Hati

11. Wings of Eagles

12. Into the Dark


Band Members:

Johan Hegg – Vocals
Ted Lundström – Bass
Johan Söderberg – Guitar
Olavi Mikkonen – Guitar
Jocke Wallgren – Drums

Translate »